07 February 2005

a la Galeano

Do you dream in airplanes and strange lands or only at home in your own bed with your own soft blankets and hard pillows and sweat smells?

I can't block mine out sometimes. I wake up and pretend they didn't happen, even though I still live with them all day.

They mob me, screaming, "Pick me! Pick me!" And I pick the one I am most afraid of and go to bed with it for the night. And in the morning I don't want to talk to anyone about it.

I want to try not to think about it, so I put on my coat and scarf and hat and gloves and headphones and turn on Bright Eyes' "I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning." And it's cold when I get on my bike, but the music---the good but not very good music that's all the rage right now---makes me think of other things and forget and remember all at the same time.

This is how I wake up.

betholindo at 10:03

previous | next