19 August 2005

back kotter

Light at the end of the tunnel: School starts in less than two weeks.

In less than two weeks, I'll be a New Yorker in old jeans and cheap sunglasses. I've promised my sister that I will not, in fact, give hand jobs in Times Square if the going gets tough.

I'm fine. I should be fine.

Actually, it's what gets me out of bed in the morning: Welcome to my life, Morningside Heights! You see this mess? You've got nine months to straighten me out, teach me Mandarin, and show me how to handle a classroom full of teenagers (Like corraling cats, I imagine---no, look over here, no, over here, I'm only going to say this once: the essay is due Friday. No extensions. No, over here, look over here.)

I called Columbia and gave my advisor the spiel: Dad died, like, yesterday, must leave the country for Sinter Klaas, can you get me into both fiction writing and Chinese 101, and by the way, my name is Sheila, I'll be the student muttering to herself outside your office all year.

Welcome to my life, Columbia University.

betholindo at 16:09

previous | next