2004-05-06

but it's cute

Me at the market half asleep resulted in the buying of a brown rice, a big hunk of cheese, tofu dogs, buns, crackers, 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner, granola for a sweet boy, canned tuna, fluoride toothpaste, and vegetables.

It took about 30 minutes to spend 15 euros; usually those numbers are reversed.

Lately, due to my strict budget, I've been buying the cheapest of everything. Yay dented cans! I'll take store brand over the gourmet or organic variety any day.

(Looking at the receipt, this means I spent about E1.25 more than I should have. But still, that's money.)

But today I just wandered around in a daze, marveling at the lack of selection compared to American supermarkets, and purchased the most expensive variety of everything I needed.

"You get what you pay for," I kept muttering to myself.

(And the security guard who kept following me around.)

I was transfixed by the tampon corner.

How do girls get by with the Dutch selections? I mean, they're either big and bulky or they're small but don't come with an applicator.

Hard core.

What's remarkable is that I don't need tampons. I was just unable to move while looking at them.

And after all that effort to buy some brown rice and some brown rice only (the original mission: to mix it with yogurt and eat it to make me feel better), I bought loads of groceries and then even stopped to buy a knit pink polka-dot halter top across the canal at the flea market on the way home.

Why?

Danged if I know.

betholindo at 3:29 p.m.

previous | next