2003-12-28

Nixon and Reagan

Woke up this morning to the feel of a black labrador puppy licking my back.

Her name is Nixon, but her owners and everyone else insist on calling her "Ellie." But she and I know her real name is Nixon, like the president.

This past summer I told my roommate Michelle that I really wanted a female black labrador puppy. It was all I could talk about.

I decided I would name her Nixon.

The next day when I came home, Nixon bounded over and jumped on me until I fell down.

So that was the trick, then: name the imaginary creature and it appears.

Granted, Michelle is only babysitting Nixon and Reagan (the cat everyone else insists on calling "Kitty") for the week, but I can pretend.

After meeting Nixon this past summer, I decided to name my imaginary boyfriend "Brian."

I was working on the name-him-and-he-will-come theory.

He still hasn't appeared, which is a good thing because I'd just leave him riddled with insecurities and doubts that would take years of therapy to cure, as that's what I do for fun sometimes.

Dogs are generally better than boys anyway.

betholindo at 9:39 a.m.

previous | next