2003-11-22

fear and loathing

So the whole school went on this field trip yesterday to a farm outside of town called la Granja de Animales.

In addition to the usual chickens, pigs, and goats, they had these four giant rats.

Now, let me clarify, I don't do rats. Shiver me timbers, I don't even like knowing they exist.

But they had four of them the size of the younger children.

Apparently they're called "nutrias" and they're a delicacy in Uruguay.

Their back feet are also webbed.

And I realize it's not the nutrias' fault that they scare me; I'm sure they're perfectly nice little rodents, friendly and such. If they were smart enough to understand the loathing they engender, I'm sure they'd be very sorry about the matter and possibly even suicidal.

But I'm still going to pretend they don't exist.

betholindo at 12:39 p.m.

previous | next