05 October 2004

hooked on phonics

So I love my Monday nights now:

That's Dutch class night.

For two hours every week I feel good about my pronunciation (better than the other Americans', but not as good as the Spaniards' or that French chick's) and bad about my vocabulary (I thumb through the Engels-Nederlands dictionary constantly).

The professor uses my facial expressions as a sort of confusion barometer, as my understanding or lack thereof is always immediately reflected in my forehead.

Or so he tells me.

At least I think that's what he's saying.

And I have no problem cutting him off, mid-sentence, with a "whoah, whoah, whoah! Wat?!"

Other times, though, I just agree with whatever he's asking me so he'll move onto the next person.

"Yes, sure, I like CDs. CDs are nice. Yes, yes, I like music. Oh, I don't know, all kinds. Yes, all kinds of music."

That was a translation of me speaking Dutch.

betholindo at 10:33

previous | next