2003-12-07

Here comes Santa Claus. . . .

I have this great new hobby:

Riding on the omnibus.

It's great, really. Today, for example, the driver went postal and started swerving all over the road. Then he pulled over suddenly and said "ciao."

Except he wasn't moving.

That was our cue to leave.

The entire bus unloaded, me last.

I blew him a kiss, and he didn't know what to do, noting his recent erratic behavior.

He offered to drive me to my house, to be my personal taxi.

I told him I didn't think so, but I could go for a refund.

He actually granted it, so I caught the next bus with the others.

This is the part I really like:

It was so crowded that I wound up sitting on some old guy's lap.

His wife grabbed my backpack and put it on her lap.

So there I was, playing Santa with Mr. and Mrs. Claus for the next half hour.

betholindo at 5:57 p.m.

previous | next