08 July 2004

and now your soul, please

Twiddling my thumbs as I wait for all sixteen pieces my paperwork to arrive from sixteen different places:

Birth certificate. Tax forms. Gift certificate for the soul of my firstborn.

Once everything arrives I have to go the American embassy and prove I'm not married.

Then I'll have all sixteen documents plus the new swear-on-a-stack-of-Bibles-that-I'm-single one notarized at the local immigration office.

And then everything plus me goes to the Dutch consulate for an interview to obtain my working visa.

Then some unknown government official will decide within thirty days, during which I'm not allowed to leave the country, whether or not I'm allowed to live, work, and play here.

Then I'll finally, finally be legal.

betholindo at 21:26

previous | next