2003-12-11

fighting temptation

Today was the last day of school and the kids all sang me that hokey Barney song ("I love you; you love me," etc.) in Spanish and lined up to give me hugs and kisses.

Then they presented me with a glittered Christmas ornament just like those we always made in elementary school. You know, the ones our parents still insist on hanging up even though they're torn and the edges are frayed and all that's left of the glitter is a glue stain.

They didn't understand why I had to leave.

I tried to explain that I miss my family and my home, but they were like, "but we're your friends, right?"

Yes, of course you're my friends.

"Then why do you have to leave?"

They finally got it when I told them that the sooner I leave, the sooner I can come back and visit.

Two little girls, one who has lead poisoning (Veronica), asked if I could take them back with me to the United States.

They said I could just put them in my purse or ship them in a box.

Don't tempt the maestra, kids. Don't tempt the maestra.

betholindo at 3:52 p.m.

previous | next