05 November 2004

metaphor debunked

So my days stretch on and on, with me not understanding why I can't just change all the diapers at once, fold all the laundry in one long stretch.

Scientific fact: The grass is always greener on the other side of the lawn.

Do I sedate myself? Is that what all this eating, drinking, sleeping, working, is?

Scientific explanation: Your neighbor's lawn is that deep, lush green because you view the blades from the side, not the top. It has nothing to do with fertilizer; it's just a matter of viewpoint.

I'm not always certain when I'm awake and when I'm sleeping.

Scientific observation: Your neighbor can't see the dirt and ant hills on your lawn, either.

More often than not, I count the hours until a socially acceptable bedtime.

betholindo at 15:19

previous | next